In the year 1951 some of senior Neurosurgeons and Neurologists of India established the Neurological Society of India. These were Dr. Jacob Chandi, Dr. B. Ramamurthi, Dr. S.T. Narsimhan and Dr. Baldev Singh, and from 1964 Annual conference of NSI became a routine academic affair. Prof. J. S. Chopra, from PGI Chandigarh, after successfully organizing the XIV World Congress of Neurology at New Delhi in 1991, took the initiative and proposed for a separate organization for the neurologists of India. The IAN was registered as a Charitable Society at Chandigarh on 10/09/1992. The first Annual Conference was held at Ranchi from 27- 29 November and Dr. J.S. Chopra was the first elected Founder President of IAN. The scientific Journal for publication of scientific material from IAN members and others from India and abroad was named Annals of Indian Academy of Neurology and Dr. M. Gouri Devi, from NIMHANS Bangalore was chosen the first Editor-In- Chief for this Journal. Joint meeting of the Indian Academy of Neurology and the Asian and Oceanian Congress of Neurology was held for the first time in New Delhi in the year 2008 by Prof Man Mohan Mendiratta as the Organizing secretary. Since then IANCON-AOCN is the Second such joint conference being organized in India…..Know more about IAN.


Four and a half decades ago, Dr. Charles M. Posner, a World Federation of Neurology representative toured the Asian and Oceanian countries and challenged its neurologists to form an association that would promote and foster the advancement and exchange of neuro-scientific information within the region. In response, Dr. Shigeo Okinaka invited the region’s neurologists to a planning meeting in Tokyo, Japan which subsequently resulted to the birth of the Asian and Oceanian Association of Neurology (AOAN) on June 26, 1961. The main objectives of the association according to the AOAN Statutes, are to promote and foster on an international scale the advancement, the exchange and diffusion of information and ideas relating to the nervous system and encourage scientific researches in neurological problems. It was decided that the the Asian and Oceanian Congress of Neurology (AOCN) will be hosted once every four years. On September 14, 1962, the board of the Association was chosen and it was composed of representatives from Australia, Hong Kong, India, Japan, Korea, New Zealand, Philippines, Republic of China (Taiwan) and Thailand. The AOCN inaugural conference was held in Nippon Teshi Centre on October 7-10, 1962 under the leadership of Prof. Okinaka. Since then, various countries have hosted the AOCN, The 18 th AOCN is being organized in New Delhi, India from the 3 rd to 6 th November 2022……..Learn More